The International Journal of Humanities, Volume (24), No (1), Year (2017-3) , Pages (49-60)

Title : ( Metaphorical Analysis of Causation in Islamic Philosophy )

Authors: Vahid KHademzadeh , Mohammad Saeedimehr ,

Citation: BibTeX | EndNote


Unlike Aristotle, Lakoff considers metaphor as an integral part of the process of human thinking and believes that humans often automatically and unconsciously learn and use a wide range of conceptual metaphors. A large part of our scientific and philosophical literature is full of conceptual metaphors. According to Lakoff, like other abstract concepts, causation is made of a small literal part which is extended by various kinds of conceptual metaphors in several directions. The current paper shows that a large part of the metaphors introduced by Lakoff, has been used by Muslim philosophers to describe causation. Ibn Sina (Avicenna) and Mulla Sadra are two of the most significant Islamic philosophers. According to Ibn Sina, causation is based on ‘Causation is Transfer of Possessions’ metaphor. This metaphor depicts causation as a three-component relation in which the boundaries are very strong and sharp. According to Mulla Sadra, causation is based on ‘Causation is Motion out’ metaphor. This metaphor makes causation to have two components and decreases the strength of boundaries between the components of the relation.


, Conceptual Metaphor, Lakoff, Causation, Mulla Sadra, Ibn Sina.
برای دانلود از شناسه و رمز عبور پرتال پویا استفاده کنید.

author = {KHademzadeh, Vahid and محمد سعیدی مهر},
title = {Metaphorical Analysis of Causation in Islamic Philosophy},
journal = {The International Journal of Humanities},
year = {2017},
volume = {24},
number = {1},
month = {March},
issn = {2538-2640},
pages = {49--60},
numpages = {11},
keywords = {Conceptual Metaphor; Lakoff; Causation; Mulla Sadra; Ibn Sina.},


%0 Journal Article
%T Metaphorical Analysis of Causation in Islamic Philosophy
%A KHademzadeh, Vahid
%A محمد سعیدی مهر
%J The International Journal of Humanities
%@ 2538-2640
%D 2017